Bookreview

Elemental Secrets – Elle Middaugh

With her mother long deceased and her father recently deployed, Valerie Moore is sent to live with her eccentric aunt in a tiny town nestled in the mountains of Pennsylvania. Being a Navy brat has made her into a bit of a loner, and making friends isn’t high on her list. 
Time with her aunt, however, soon convinces her that a life of loneliness really isn’t what she wants. So, she opens up and makes a few friends – friends with secrets. 
Her love life quickly becomes a mess. Torn between the conflicted heartbreaker next door, the persistent jock at the top, and the rugged college bad boy, Valerie finds it almost impossible to choose just one guy. 
Romance isn’t her only problem, though. 
Secrets are revealed about her family, her friends and relationships, and her whole world…
But the biggest secret of all is unveiled when Valerie discovers she has Elemental powers, unleashing a rapid chain of irreversible events.
  *** 

I read this one twice, because usually I get too distracted by the story the first time through. But to be honest, I wasn’t a huge fan of it either time. 

There were parts that I enjoyed (uhh, badass elemental superpowers always get me going) but even that was a bit foreseeable. I got a bit worked up over the whole 1-girl-messing-around-with-3-guys issue. I just felt it was pretty unfair, and the fact that she was CONSTANTLY using “I’m young, I don’t have to settle now” as an excuse, got old quickly. Fair enough, be young, date, have different love interests- but no matter what you say, she was “exclusively” DATING one of them and going behind his back to crush on the other two. Not cool, Val. 

Apart from the leading lady grinding my gears to a near mush, I just really didn’t find anything especially fantastic about the story. Soz. Val’s character felt fake, the “dating the son of the leaders of BOTH sides” thing felt so cliche and the guys she had things for were just lacking (it was pretty much about how “hot” or “mysterious” or “bad boy” they are). It was just a bit too highschool drama with zero substance for me.

I give this one 3 stars and a sad face for wasted potential, and I’m honestly not sure if I’m interested in reading more of this series. 

Leave a Reply

