Bookreview · Reviews

Succubus- Brandon Varnell

Paranormal vampire-teeth Romance kiss  My Rating sad

***

Christian is the Catholic Church’s best executioner. Dedicated. Devout. Deadly. Ever since the Church saved him from the decimated ruins of his hometown, his commitment to their cause has been unshakeable.

Then he’s sent to execute Lilith, who lives in Seal Beach, California. He’s baffled. Lilith is afraid of men. The Church believes she’s a succubus, but he just can’t see it. Yet the way men—both human and monster alike—act as if they’ve been possessed whenever she’s near is disturbing.

With lustful men attacking Lilith and monsters attacking him for being near Lilith, Christian must uncover what’s really going on, and soon, or innocent blood will run through the streets—as will his own.

Love. It can kill a man.

***

Goodreads |  Amazon

Sigh. Okay, let’s get this party started! First, I’d like to point out that this book was rated 4.26 on Goodreads. So what I’m about to say may be of an unpopular opinion.

To start on a good note, I adore the cover of this book. Just, ahh. Beaut.

Now…

I thought this book was alright. Maybe I was disappointed because I don’t really read many books involving succubi, or Catholic supernatural executioners, but I really did expect it to be a little…well… more.

Getting to what will probably be the most unpopular part of my review. Just hear me out. I didn’t like the main characters. I was intrigued by the hints that were being thrown left and right, but I just didn’t sit well with their personalities, how they dealt with things, or how freaking blind you’d have to be to not pick up on all the red flags throughout the book. But more on this in a bit.

I think that a huge part of my dislike of our first character, whilst I can obviously understand and forgive Lilith’s fear of men (she’d been attacked, molested, and constantly had men creeping on her), she didn’t really change that much throughout the book. I like a story with growth and I LOVE powerful female leads, and I just feel like there was nothing much more to her personality other than acting like a deer in headlights for majority of the book (to be fair, she improved a bit in the end when she stood up to the bad guy) and pining after the first guy that didn’t try to jump her.

Onto Christian, executioner-extraordinaire. Honestly, you’d think that the top ranked vamp smithereen-er in the Catholic church would have better instincts. First of all, all that bull about “Lilith can’t be supernatural simply because I’m not driven into a ball of man lust around her” WHEN LITERALLY EVERY OTHER HUMAN BEING AND SUPERNATURAL THEY COME IN CONTACT WITH IN THE BOOK HAS AN UNNATURAL OBSESSION WITH HER is beyond ridiculous. Sure, maybe she isn’t a succubus (supernaturals don’t get affected by succubi), but she’s sure as walnuts is NOT a human. On to my next point, how out of touch do you have to be to not even consider that it may , perhaps, make more sense that the reason he doesn’t become a crazed lunatic around her, is that he’s not only a supernatural, but he’s her male counterpart (because even the supes are obsessed)? There is so much foreshadowing for something along these lines- in the end, he mentions that he feels that she’s the “Eve to his Adam”. I mean, come on.

What’s even weirder for me to admit, is that I wish that it wasn’t such a lovey-dovey-googoo-eyed yuck fest. It’s either entirely a goo fest romance (and therefore unlikely to have much of a story line) or it’s a decent paranormal fantasy. I really think there is such a great idea behind this one, and it could have been a phenomenal first book in a paranormal series, and I think that’s why I’m so disappointed.

I struggled a little with how much I felt the story stretched. It focused too much on parts that I felt really weren’t that important. Condense it a little, throw in some more detail, and progress and bulk up the character story line as much as the romance and who’s-bad-guy plot, this would have been a fast paced and exciting read.

Don’t think that there weren’t great parts to the book and writing, it had it’s moments. I just don’t have anything incredibly notable to say about it. I do sincerely hope that it was just me reading while I was moody, or in the mood for a different type of story, but as it stands I thought it was okay, but didn’t make me implode with wow. As much as I’ve ripped it to shreds, it HAS done its job and made me impatient to find out exactly what Lilith and Christian are- but unless the next book hooks me in a way this one failed to, I don’t think I’ll read much after that.

My rating of the book : 2 and a tad stars (because potential).
The idea was solid, it just didn’t play out in a way that I enjoyed.

***

As always, big thanks to YA Bound for the opportunity to read and review Succubus!

ya-bound-tour-button

Icons designed by Freepik from Flaticon

Leave a Reply

