Bookreview · dystopian · Reviews

Eternal Darkness – J. F. Johns

Eternal Darkness - book 1.jpgEternal Darkness by J.F. Johns
Genre:YA Dystopian
Release Date: January 11th 2016

The world is divided between humans and cyborgs. Scarlet Lock is neither. She is a soldier created to kill on command. But her memory has been erased and when she awakens in a government facility she soon discovers that this new world is a dangerous place, full of government secrets and cruel experiments performed in the name of progress. With the help of a group of cyborgs, Scarlet will fight to uncover the truth and transform the future of the new world she now lives in.

Eternal Darkness is full of suspense, action and romance and will make readers question what it means to be human.
***
MY TOUGHTS:
Eternal Darkness was 4.5 stars of pure stays-around-in-your-brain enjoyment. You know the one. That feeling you get when you bite into a chocolate bar and just know that you won’t be able to stop yourself from finishing it (and possibly a few more). At least I savoured it, though… right?

There’s something about YA Dystopians that are just so satisfying for me, and this book didn’t disappoint. A couple of similar books that floated across my mind as I read included some of the most popular books in the last few years. The Hunger Games. Cinder. The Red Queen. Don’t get me wrong, Eternal Darkness, whilst sharing a few similarities (cyborgs and Capitals comme the Districts in THG), held it’s own up against these giants.

Memory loss, cyborg vs. human unrest, flash backs, and illegal experimentation resulting in super-badass, immortal non-human-non-cyborg soldiers, is pretty much a recipe for a great read if you can get the proportions right. Which J.F. Johns did. I even, and I can’t quite believe I’m saying this,  liked that there wasn’t much romance to speak of. Sure, there was the usual triangle, and guys pining after her, but the story didn’t take  back seat to the (sometimes petty) drama that romance usually bring to a novel, which I appreciate.
I LOVE a few good flashbacks in a story and this was no different. Learning about her as she learnt about herself and what she did in the last 20 years was a pretty interesting experience, and I hope it continues on throughout the series.
You may be asking “Kay, if you love it so much, why not give it 5 stars?” Well, my imaginary reader friend, let me tell you. I’m not a huge fan of series’. Especially long ones. Now, before you riot, let me explain why. I’m impatient. So, so impatient, and most (all) series’ take 3+ books to tell a story, and I don’t enjoy the wait. Why wait an entire book/series to FINALLY find out about something that was mentioned in the beginning and then just conveniently forgotten until the end? Nuh uh. That’s not to say that I don’t obsess over a series like everyone else does (at least for the first 2-ish books), nor am I saying that Eternal Darkness is using that trickery with it’s readers, but there WERE a few moments when I thought things weren’t being explained as well as they could have been (and also major cliff hanger alert). I’m definitely going to read the second book, but am crossing my fingers that Johns doesn’t turn to the dark side and actually sheds some light throughout instead of leaving everything for the big finale in the third book.
***
Add to Goodreads
Buy Link:
Amazon
And of course, for all my Aussie babes, click here for the Kindle version.
 ***
j-f-johnsJ.F.Johns is 23 years old and was born and raised in Spain. She studied English Literature and Creative Writing at ARU in Cambridge, UK.
She’s an animal lover, and spends her free time playing with her newly adopted puppy, drinking too much coffee and posting book photos on her Instagram.
She believes in the art of dramatic sighing and eye rolling.
She works as a ninja, but has been told several times that she’s not very good at her job.
Eternal Darkness is her debut novel, and is the first book in the Eternal Darkness Trilogy. If anyone is interested in a free ebook copy of Eternal Darkness, please feel free to message me your email!

Author Links:

GIVEAWAY:

Click on the following link to enter a Rafflecopter giveaway!

ya-bound-tour-button

Blog Tour Organized by:
YA Bound Book Tours
Leave a Reply

