Action · Adventure · Bookreview · Fairytale · Fantasy · Reviews

The Lost Knight- Candy Atkins

Adventure sword  Fantasy  unicorn

My Thoughts  people-14

Links:  amazon  goodreads-letter-logo

***

How am I supposed to save the world when I’m not strong, not brave, not smart, and not particularly good at most things? I ran away from home the day after my thirteenth birthday when Auntie and her weird friend attacked me. Now I’m on the run with the Grim Reaper and a scary soldier. And I’m no longer on Earth. They were expecting me to be a Knight. The saviour that’s supposed to stop a war and prevent the invasion to Earth. But I’m not. They grabbed the wrong girl. I just don’t know how to tell them.

***

Soooo… this one was a bit of a strange one for me to get into. Not because I didn’t like the story, because trust me, it’s good. I just couldn’t really mesh with the whole 13 year old as the main character at first (because, you know me, my brain automatically starts sending out little romance pings, and I kept having to remind myself that she is 13).

Accidental underage romantic brain pings aside, I thought the story was fantastic. It was a twist on the traditional earth/fantasy realms, and I really enjoyed it. It was something that I love, wrapped up and modified to make it it’s own thing. A new take on fantasy? Yes please. I also  LOVED the humour used throughout the book. A sassy 13 year old and a slightly creepy, but mostly adorable Grim Reaper man make a very amusing team.

It’s a bit of a hard story to explain, because to explain it, I’d be spoiling it all, so in this case I’m just going to tell you to read it and find out.

I think that this book would be a fantastic read for slightly younger audiences than myself, because I think that it’s awesome to show younger people that they can be the heroes too, that books don’t always have to be about mushy romance (although, who’s complaining?) and you don’t have to be older to make a difference- you can be just as bad ass without being 18 and in love (actually, I think you could be even MORE bad ass).

I will absolutely be reading the next instalment of this series, and can’t wait to read more of Candy Atkins’ work!

The Lost Knight
by Candy Atkins
(The Lost Knight Series, #1)
Publication date: May 20th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Icon made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com

One thought on “The Lost Knight- Candy Atkins

Leave a Reply

