Action · Adventure · Bookreview · Fairytale · Fantasy · Romance · Tragedy · Uncategorized

The Princess Bride – William Goldman


“Beautiful, flaxen-haired Buttercup has fallen for Westley, the farm boy, and when he departs to make his fortune, she vows never to love another. So when she hears that his ship has been captured by the Dread Pirate Roberts – who never leaves survivors – her heart is broken. But her charms draw the attention of the relentless Prince Humperdinck who wants a wife and will go to any lengths to have Buttercup. So starts a fairytale like no other, of fencing, fighting, torture, poison, true love, hate, revenge, giants, hunters, bad men, good men, beautifulest ladies, snakes, spiders, beasts, chases, escapes, lies, truths, passion and miracles.”

 

Okay, so I liked this book a lot more than I expected to. I’ve seen the movie a few times, and although I enjoyed it, I didn’t think it’d be the type of book I’d be that into. Well slap me and call it a tickle,  I was wrong.

The Princess Bride has a little of everything. Romance. Action and adventure. Pirates and Princesses. A hero. Tragedy to rival even the works of Will Shakespeare. Even a smidgen of torture for all you sadistic bastards out there. I mean, who doesn’t love a bit of life sucking torture every now and again?

My favourite scene would probably have to be when Buttercup realised she was in love with Westley after getting jealous because a Countess was checking him out. Deciding to head to his hovel to let him know, she knocks on his door and announces it to him in a rather hilarious fashion that had me giggling like a goofball as much as it melted my heart. I’m sure most of us have felt like this before.

 “I love you,” Buttercup said. “I know this must come as something of a surprise to you, since all I’ve ever done is scorn you and degrade you and taunt you, but I have loved you for several hours now, and every second, more… And with that, she dared the bravest thing she’d ever done; she looked right into his eyes.”

Goldman takes you on a journey throughout the book. You laugh and you cheer and your heart breaks alongside the characters. You fall in love with the handsome pirate who did everything he possibly could in order to someday be able to provide for his love. You grieve alongside Buttercup as she mourns Westleys death and vows to never love again. You hate Prince Humperdinck in all his killing-zoo-Farmboy-torture-wife-murdering looniness.

I’m definitely planning to buy a copy, and will probably read it quite a bit in the future.

A few more of my favourite quotes:

 “You seem a decent fellow,” Inigo said. “I hate to kill you.”
“You seem a decent fellow,” answered the man in black. “I hate to die.”

“Enough about my beauty.” Buttercup said. “Everybody always talks about how beautiful I am. I’ve got a mind, Westley. Talk about that.”

“This is my favourite book in all the world, though I have never read it.”

“Fool!” cried the hunchback. “You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is ‘Never get involved in a land war in Asia,’ but only slightly less well known is this: ‘Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line.”

I wouldn’t say it’s my favourite book, but I’d definitely recommend checking it out.

The Princess Bride
Author: William Goldman
Publisher: Random House (USA)
Publication date: 1973
Pages: 493
ISBN: 0-345-41826-3
Available for purchase here or here
Kindle edition here

Cover photo from here

Leave a Reply

